PLS and/or CLP Examination Eligibility

Any person who has had a minimum of three years of experience in the legal field may take the examination. Membership in NALS is not a requirement. A partial waiver of the three-year legal experience requirement may be granted for post-secondary degrees, successful completion of the ALP exam, or other certifications. The maximum waiver is one year.

The Exam Covers

PART 1: Written Communications
PART 2: Office Procedures and Technology
PART 3: Ethics and Judgment Skills
PART 4: Legal Knowledge and Skills

*Membership in NALS is not a requirement.

For more information about this exam, deadlines to register, and study materials, visit

© Copyright 2022 NALS of Washington. All rights reserved.